Connect with us


Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 Points Table: Australia, South Africa, England and West Indies reach semis; India eliminated

The ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 is being played in New Zealand. A total of eight teams — Hosts New Zealand, Australia, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh, England and South Africa will battle it out over the next one month for the prestigious World Cup trophy.

The final will take place in Christchurch on 3 April.

File image of the ICC Women's World Cup trophy on display. Image: Twitter @cricketworldcup

File image of the ICC Women’s World Cup trophy on display. Image: Twitter @cricketworldcup

England are the defending champions of the tournament, having defeated India by nine runs in the 2017 final at Lord’s. Mithali Raj and Co are aiming for that elusive maiden trophy, despite having reached the final twice (In 2005 and 2017).

Australia are the most successful team in history, having won the trophy a record six times, and once again enter the tournament as favourites.

The tournament will begin with a single league phase, with all eight teams facing the other once, with the top four progressing to the semi-finals.

On Sunday, South Africa pulled off a thriller to win by three wickets against India, eliminating Mithali Raj and Co from the World Cup.

Here’s a look at the updated Women’s World Cup points table:

Position Team Matches Won Lost NR Net RR Points
1 Australia Women 7 7 0 0 +1.283 14
2 South Africa Women 7 5 1 1 +0.088 11
3 England Women 7 4 3 0 +0.949 8
4 West Indies Women 7 3 3 1 -0.885 7
5 India Women 7 3 4 0 +0.633 6
6 New Zealand Women 7 3 4 0 +0.027 6
7 Bangladesh Women 7 1 6 0 -0.999 2
8 Pakistan Women 7 1 6 0 -1.313 2
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Cricket