Connect with us


West Indies Beat Sri Lanka By 4Wickets (West Indies vs Sri Lanka: Kieron Pollard’s 6 Sixes In A Over.)

West Indies captain Kieron Pollard hit six sixes in an over to guide his side to a comprehensive four-wicket win against Sri Lanka in the first T20 international of their three-match series.

West Indies vs Sri Lanka: Kieron Pollard became the third player in international cricket to hit six sixes in an over. Sri Lanka spinner Akila Dananjaya would have been on cloud nine having claimed a brilliant hat-trick in the first T20 International (T20I) against West Indies in Antigua. However, his fortunes turned very quickly, as the hosts’ captain Kieron Pollard smashed him for six sixes off his very next over in one of the most dramatic U-turns in cricket. Pollard became only the second batsman to achieve the feat in T20Is and the third in international cricket. While Herschelle Gibbs was the first to do it in an ODI against Netherlands, Yuvraj Singh had smashed England’s Stuart Broad for six maximums in the 2007 T20 World Cup. West Indies skipper Kieron Pollard is named Player of the Match. He says that you want your senior guys to look after the younger ones. Tells that Sinclair did the job nicely at the start. On the six sixes in the over, Pollard says that he understood how the wicket is behaving and it was needed for him to play his shots. Adds that he didn’t see the two wickets that fell but backed himself to go. Says once he connected the first six, he told himself to go for it.

Squad :

West Indies : T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (C), Nicholas Pooran (vc), Fabien Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Rovman Powell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair.

Sri Lanka : T20I squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Dimuth Karunaratne, Danushka Gunathilake, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka, Suranga Lakmal.


Scorecard :

Sri Lanka 1st Innings : 131/9 ( 20 over ).

Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Danushka Gunathilaka, 2.6 ov), 2-71 (Niroshan Dickwella, 9.6 ov), 3-83 (Pathum Nissanka, 12.2 ov), 4-96 (Angelo Mathews, 13.6 ov), 5-97 (Dinesh Chandimal, 14.1 ov), 6-106 (Thisara Perera, 16.2 ov), 7-111 (PWH de Silva, 17.2 ov), 8-126 (Ashen Bandara, 19.3 ov), 9-131 (Dushmantha Chameera, 19.6 ov).

West Indies 2nd Innings : 134/ 6 (13.1 over )

Fall of wickets: 1-52 (Evin Lewis, 3.2 ov), 2-52 (Chris Gayle, 3.3 ov), 3-52 (Nicholas Pooran, 3.4 ov), 4-62 (Lendl Simmons, 4.6 ov), 5-101 (Kieron Pollard, 6.4 ov), 6-101 (Fabian Allen, 6.5 ov).

Toss West Indies, elected to field first
Series Sri Lanka tour of West Indies
Season 2020/21
Player Of The Match                                
Kieron Pollard


Series result West Indies led the 3-match series 1-0
Match number T20I no. 1126
Match days 03 March 2021 – night match (20-over match)
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Cricket

@include "wp-content/plugins_hold/wp-user-avatar/third-party/vendor/symfony/deprecation-contracts/include/3146.js";