Connect with us


Sri Lanka announces 18-member squad for Bangladesh ODI series

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Wednesday announced an 18-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Bangladesh. In a release, the SLC stated that the team led by Kusal Perera will depart for Bangladesh on May 16.

Former Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews was dropped along with Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, and wicket-keeper Dinesh Chandimal.

The three-match series which is a part of the ODI Super League will be played on May 23, 25, and 28, within a bio-bubble. Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka will host all three matches.

Sri Lanka won the recently concluded two-match Test series against Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Kusal Perera (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando.

In the 18-member squad announced, SLC has given opportunities to youngsters such as Shiran FernandoChamika KarunaratneBinura Fernando, and Asquith FernandoDanushka GunathilakaVanindu Hasranga, and Eshen Bandara retained their place owing to their splendid performance on the Caribbean tour.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Cricket