Connect with us


NZ beat AUS: New Zealand wins by 7 wickets

Photo: Matt Roller

New Zealand has easily beaten Australia in the 5th T20 and won the hard fought series 3-2. Chasing Australia’s modest total of 142, Martin Guptill (71 of 45 balls) and Devon Convoy (36 of 28 balls) stitched 106 runs stand for the opening wicket. Glenn Phillips made a quickfire 34 of 16 for the winners. Earlier none of the Australian batsman could score big against the disciplined New Zealand bowling especially at death. Kiwi bowlers gave away only 36 runs in the last five overs while picking up four wickets. The Black Caps restricted Australia to 142-8 from their 20 overs after the visitors won the toss and elected to bat in Wellington, with Ish Sodhi taking 3-24. New Zealand’s successful chase bucked the series trend of the side batting first winning every game. Australia captain Aaron Finch said: “We probably just weren’t aggressive enough with the bat. We probably let them dictate slightly, but we didn’t get enough runs and kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Sodhi was named as the player of the series, finishing with 13 wickets at an average of 12.07 across five games.

Squad :
New Zealand Squad :Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult

Australia Squad :Matthew Wade (wk), Aaron Finch (c), Josh Philippe, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Riley Meredith

Scorecard :

Australia : 142/8 (20 over )

Fall of wicket : 8-1 (Philippe, 2.2), 74-2 (Finch, 9.6), 77-3 (Maxwell, 10.5), 103-4 (Wade, 14.2), 122-5 (Stoinis, 17.1), 122-6 (Agar, 17.2), 139-7 (Mitchell Marsh, 19.2), 142-8 (Jhye Richardson, 19.6)

New Zealand : 143/5 (15.3 over)

Fall of wicket :106-1 (Devon Conway, 11.5), 106-2 (Kane Williamson, 11.6), 124-3 (Martin Guptill, 14.1)

Match Info :

Match : NZ vs AUS, 5th T20I, Australia tour of New Zealand, 2021

Date : Sunday, March 07, 2021

Toss : Australia won the toss and opt to bat

Time : 4:30 AM (Mar 07)

Venue : Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Umpires : Chris Gaffaney, Wayne Knights

Third Umpire : Shaun Haig

Match Referee : Jeff Crowe

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Australia