Connect with us


India vs England 1st T20 (Michael Vaughan said that Indian Premier League team Mumbai Indians are a better T20 team than India.)

Photo: Matt Roller

Toss – England have won the toss & elected to bowl.

India were restricted to 124 for 7 in the first T20I against England in Ahmedabad as the Indian batsmen adopted a more attacking approach but failed in execution.

Shreyas Iyer top-scored for India with 67 and Rishabh Pant made 21, but those two were the only batsmen to flourish in the Indian effort.

England bowlers Jofra Archer, Mark Wood, Chirs Jordan Adil Rashid and Ben Stokes maintained the pressure on Indian batsmen, most of whom looked to attack from the start but couldn’t execute the plans well.

Former England captain Michael Vaughan said that Indian Premier League team Mumbai Indians are a better T20 team than India. “The @mipaltan are a better T20 team than @BCCI!!!” tweeted Vaughan on Friday. Former India batsman Wasim Jaffer had a witty reply to Vaughan’s comment. “Not all teams are lucky enough to play four overseas players Michael,” tweeted Jaffer, referring to the IPL rule that allows teams to have only four overseas players in the playing XI.

A series win for either team will be a boost for their confidence ahead of this year’s ICC T20 World Cup 2021 in India. England are the current occupants of the ICC’s No.1 ranking in T20I cricket with India sitting just below. A 4-1 series win or better for India will see them rise to the top spot on the ladder, with England slipping down.

Playing 11 for both the teams: India playing 11: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal.

England playing 11: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler(w), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan(c), Ben Stokes, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.

England innings scorecard

Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Jason Roy lbw b Sundar 49 32 4 3
Jos Buttler lbw b Chahal 26 21 2 1
Dawid Malan not out 24 20 2 1
Jonny Bairstow not out 26 17 1 2
Total: 130-2 in 15.3 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Axar Patel 3 0 24 0
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2 0 15 0
Yuzvendra Chahal 4 0 44 1
Shardul Thakur 2 0 16 0
Hardik Pandya 2 0 13 0
Washington Sundar 2.3 0 18 1

IND vs ENG 1st T20: Indian innings scorecard


Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Shikhar Dhawan b Wood 4 12 0 0
KL Rahul b Archer 1 4 0 0
Virat Kohli c Jordan b Rashid 0 5 0 0
Rishabh Pant c Bairstow b Stokes 21 23 2 1
Shreyas Iyer c Malan b Jordan 67 48 8 1
Hardik Pandya c Jordan b Archer 19 2 1 1
Shardul Thakur c Malan b Archer 0 1 0 0
Washington Sundar not out 3 3 0 0
Axar Patel not out 7 3 1 0
Total: 112-6 in 19 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Adil Rashid 3 0 14 1
Jofra Archer 4 1 23 3
Mark Wood 4 0 20 1
Chris Jordan 4 0 27 1
Ben Stokes 3 0 25 1
Sam Curran 2 0 15 0
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Cricket