Connect with us


Highlights, Zimbabwe vs Pakistan, 3rd T20I at Harare, Full Cricket Score: Visitors win by 24 runs, clinch series 2-1

Toss report: Pakistan won the toss and chose to bat against Zimbabwe on Sunday in the third and final Twenty20 international at Harare Sports Club with the series level at 1-1.

Captain Babar Azam’s decision was influenced by the fact that the team batting first successfully defended their total in the previous two matches.

Azam and rival captain Brendan Taylor agreed that the pitch was bowler-friendly and it would be a challenge to surpass 140 runs.

Pakistan made three changes to the team that suffered a shock 19-run loss two days ago with Sharjeel Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, and Hasan Ali replacing Asif Ali, Danish Aziz, and Arshad Iqbal.

Zimbabwe dropped Tinashe Kumanhukamwe even though he top-scored with 34 in the second international. Sean Williams took his place.

Zimbabwe XI: Tarisai Musakanda, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams(c), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva(w), Luke Jongwe, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava

Pakistan XI: Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Sharjeel Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain

PAK vs ZIM 3rd T20I: Babar Azam breaks Virat Kohli’s record to become fastest to complete 2000 runs- Pakistan skipper Babar Azam has gone past Virat Kohli to become the fastest to complete 2,000 runs in the shortest format. He achieved the landmark while playing against Zimbabwe in the T20I series decider at Harare on Sunday. Azam took just 54 matches (52 innings) to complete 2,000 runs.

Overall, he is the 11th batsman to complete 2000 runs in T20I cricket.

In his career, Babar Azam has a century and 17 fifties. He plays at an impressive average of nearly 48.

India skipper Virat Kohli had achieved the milestone of 2000 T20I runs in his 56th innings (60th match). Australia captain Aaron Finch is placed third in the list. He had achieved the landmark in his 62nd match.

Zimbabwe vs Pakistan 3rd T20 , Live


PAK vs ZIM 3rd T20I: Babar Azam breaks Virat Kohli’s record to become fastest to complete 2000 runs

It is notable that Babar Azam ranks 2nd in the latest ICC T20I Rankings with 844 points.

Fastest to 2000 T20I runs

Player Opposition Ground Match Date Debut Time Mat Inns Scorecard
V Kohli (INDIA) v England Manchester 3 Jul 2018 12 Jun 2010 8y 21d 60 56 T20I # 684
AJ Finch (AUS) v England Southampton 4 Sep 2020 12 Jan 2011 9y 236d 62 62 T20I # 1095
BB McCullum (NZ) v Netherlands Chattogram 29 Mar 2014 17 Feb 2005 9y 40d 67 66 T20I # 390
MJ Guptill (NZ) v Pakistan Mount Maunganui 28 Jan 2018 15 Feb 2009 8y 347d 70 68 T20I # 641
PR Stirling (IRE) v West Indies St George’s 15 Jan 2020 15 Jun 2009 10y 214d 73 72 T20I # 1028


Babar Azam also overtook his teammate Mohammad Hafeez who achieved the feat in 89 innings (93rd match).

Now, Azam is only behind his teammates Hafeez and Shoaib Malik to become the highest run-scorer for Pakistan. The duo has 2,335 and 2,388 runs* respectively.

When it comes to the highest run-getter, Virat Kohli leads the list of most run-scorer with 3,159 runs. Martin Guptill is placed second with 2,939 runs while Rohit Sharma is third with 2,864 runs to his name.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Cricket