Connect with us


BNP Paribas Open: Serena Williams not on entry list, Naomi Osaka included despite suggestions of sabbatical

BNP Paribas Open: Serena Williams, who didn’t make it to the US Open because of a hamstring breach, wasn’t on the entry list for the BNP Paribas Open at Indian Wells next month, but Naomi Osaka was one of the five women who took part in the women’s draw. He was one of the former champions.

BNP Paribas Open: Osaka, who won four Grand Slams, was on the entry list for the hard court event from October 4th to 17th, but her participation is doubtful as she said she would take a break from tennis last week to focus on her mental health.

Osaka has been struggling in court since it withdrew from the French Open in May, saying that tournament officials had lined up for the necessary media appearances and had a negative impact on their mental health.

The 23-year-old Japanese, who won the first WTA title at Indian Wells in 2018, announced her break after her bid to maintain the US Open title ended in the turmoil of the third round. ..

Winner of the latest two Indian Wells titles in 2001, Williams has had an injured season and has been competing since shedding tears for a leg injury from his first round at Wimbledon. Is not …

Two weeks ago, 39-year-old Williams said he had decided to play in the final Grand Slam of the year with the advice of the medical team and didn’t show a timeline for his return.

The dual ATP-WTA hard court event at Indian Wells, one run below the four Grand Slam tournaments, usually takes place in March, but was canceled last year due to COVID-19. This year’s edition has been postponed.

BNP Paribas Open:  Tournament organizers include world’s number one Ash Bertie, second-placed Aryna Sabalenka, Wimbledon finalist Karolina Pliskova, Olympic bronze medalist Elina Svitolina, and French Open champion Barbora Kletikova. He said it was on the list.

In addition, defending champion Bianca Andreesque of Canada will return to Indian Wells with former winners Elena Vesnina (2017), Simona Hallep (2015) and Victoria Azarenka (2012, 2016).

On the men’s side, the organizers include five-time champion Novak Djokovic, Australian Open runner-up Daniil Medvedev, French Open finalist Stefanos Tsitsipas, Wimbledon finalist Matteo Berrettini, and Olympic champion. He said he would join a number of top players, including Alexander Zverev.

BNP Paribas Open:  Five-time champion Roger Federer, three-time winner Rafael Nadal, and defending men’s champion Dominic Thiem are all injured but not on the entry list. rice field.

Serena is not on the Indian Wells entry list, Osaka is currently

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Tennis